Geriatric Award Nominations

(Deadline: January 5)

Candidates Will Be Judged on:

  • history of lifetime contributions to research andother scholarly contributionsto the field of mental health and aging;
  • quality of contributions (i.e., significance to the understanding and the care of the aged and their families);
  • originality (i.e., new paradigms, pioneering new areas of research, innovative approaches);
  • quantity of work of quality; and
  • impact on the field and other practitioners.

Method of Nomination:
Nominations Should Include

  • One letter of nomination, two pages maximum
  • At least one additional letter of recommendation, two pages maximum
  • The nominee's current curriculum vitae
  • A statement from the nominee, describing his or her accomplishments in the field of geropsychiatric research, five pages maximum.

Nomination Procedure

Mail original to:

Chair, Committee on the Award for Research in Geriatric Psychiatry
The American College of Psychiatrists
111 E. Wacker Dr., Suite 1440
Chicago, IL 60601
You may also e-mail an electronic copy to

Past Geriatric Award Winners

2019 Robert A. Sweet, M.D.
2018 Constantine G. Lyketsos, M.D., M.H.S.
2017 Davangere P. Devanand, M.D.
2016 Yeates Conwell, M.D.
2015 Kristine Yaffe, M.D.  
2014 David C. Steffens, M.D., M.H.S.
2013 Anand Kumar, M.D.
2012 Peter V. Rabins, M.D., M.P.H.
2011 Bruce G. Pollock, M.D., Ph.D.
2010 K. Ranga R. Krishnan, M.D., FACPsych
2009 Robert G. Robinson, M.D.
2008 Gary W. Small, M.D.
2007 Charles F. Reynolds III, M.D., FACPsych
2006 George S. Alexopoulos, M.D., FACPsych
2005 Dilip V. Jeste, M.D.
2004 Dan G. Blazer, M.D., MPH, Ph.D., FACPsych