Dean Award Nominations

(Deadline: January 5)

Method of Nomination
Nominations should include

  • One or more letters of nomination, two pages maximum
  • The nominee's Curriculum Vitae
  • A statement from the nominee, describing his or her accomplishments in the field of schizophrenia research, five pages maximum.

Nomination Procedure

Mail original to:

Chair, Committee on the Dean Award for Research in Schizophrenia
The American College of Psychiatrists
111 E. Wacker Dr., Suite 1440
Chicago, IL 60601
You may also e-mail an electronic copy to


Past Dean Award Winners

2019 Neal R. Swerdlow, M.D., Ph.D.
2018 Ira D. Glick, M.D., FACPsych
2017 Matcheri S. Keshavan, M.D.
2016 Anissa Abi-Dargham, M.D.
2015 Godfrey D. Pearlson, M.D.
2014 S. Charles Schulz II, M.D.
2013 Robert W. Buchanan, M.D.
2012 Daniel C. Javitt, M.D., Ph.D.
2011 David L. Braff, M.D.
2010 John H. Krystal, M.D.
2009 Donald C. Goff, M.D.
2008 Thomas H. McGlashan, M.D.
2007 Raquel E. Gur, M.D., Ph.D.
2006 John M. Davis, M.D.
2005 David A. Lewis, M.D.
2004 Charles B. Nemeroff , M.D., Ph.D., FACPsych
2003 Stephen R. Marder, M.D.
2002 Eve C. Johnstone, M.D., FRCP
2001 Jeffrey A. Lieberman, M.D.
2000 Robert Freedman, M.D.
1999 Robin M. Murray, MB, ChB
1998 Kenneth S. Kendler, M.D.
1997 John M. Kane, M.D.   
1996 Herbert Y. Meltzer, M.D.
1995 Carol A. Tamminga, M.D.
1994 Daniel R. Weinberger, M.D.
1993 Marvin I. Herz, M.D., FACPsych
1992 Nancy C. Andreasen, M.D., Ph.D., FACPsych
1991 Philip Seeman, M.D., Ph.D., FRSC
1990 Ming T. Tsuang, M.D., Ph.D., FACPsych
1989 Irving I. Gottesman, Ph.D.
1988 Gerard E. Hogarty, MSW
1987 Luc Ciompi, M.D.
1986 Philip R. S. May, M.D.
1985 Philip S. Holzman, Ph.D.
1984 Erik Stomgren, M.D.
1983 Richard J. Wyatt, M.D.  
1982 Robert Cancro, M.D., FACPsych