Founded on May 8, 1963, in St. Louis, Mo., The American College of Psychiatrists (The College) is a not-for-profit honorary association dedicated to providing continuing education to its Members, promoting the latest advances in the specialty, and supporting the highest standards in psychiatry.

The Board of Regents, which is made up of six officers and nine other Board Members, is the executive council of The College. The Board administers all professional and business affairs of the association, and oversees The College's Member-driven committees.

Membership in The College is limited to psychiatrists who have demonstrated outstanding competence in the field of psychiatry, and who have achieved national recognition in one of the following fields: clinical practice, research, academic leadership, and teaching. New Members must be sponsored by Fellows or Members of The College who are personally familiar with their work and career.

To encourage involvement in The College, active Members are expected to attend at least one out of every three Annual Meetings. At age 70, Members may assume Emeritus status, at which point they are no longer required to attend meetings or pay dues.